Mat & Jacob take the first GP win of the Season

Dart 18 Results 11 May 2015

Dart 18 Grand Prix 1 at Dee Sailing Club

Over the Bank holiday weekend 26 Dart 18’s assembled from around the country at Dee SC on the Wirral for the first event of the 2015 circuit. Due to tidal considerations, an early start on Saturday was scheduled so it was a frantic Friday evening of rigging following the holiday traffic road chaos!

All panic was in vain as Saturday dawned with a 25 knot cold Easterly wind and following a ‘road’ test by windy weather specialists, Sean and Helen, all sailing was abandoned for the day. Sean was heard to comment that even he didn’t fancy going downwind in those conditions! However, spirits were not dampened and the nautical activity continued through the evening with full fleet ‘rowing’ to the Gap Bands’ Oops Up Side Your Head at the 1980’s themed party and Mr Motivator keeping everyone dancing into the small hours!

Sunday was far more agreeable with a beautiful 15 knot South-Easterly and four races scheduled. The first three races all provided close racing with very little to separate the leading group and positions changing many times, the chasing fleet also not very far behind so tactical decisions were as important as pure boat speed. The final race of the day saw the wind veering to the South and strengthening to 20+ knots with a nasty chop that caused many tacking problems throughout the fleet and at least one capsize, fortunately Ben and Harry were not wearing their ‘concrete boots’! With one discard kicking in the results revealed Mat and Jake to be leading by one point over James and Alison, Lloydy and Rob third with 8 points, Des and Sara tied in fourth place with Marco and James. In true Dee tradition the evening social featured a fantastic local band playing a wide selection of quality tracks from the Beatles to the Kaiser Chiefs with everyone reflecting on a great day on and off the water.

The conditions eased for the Monday racing with the potential for some big gains and losses as contending with the tide would provide much more of a challenge. The first race went pretty much to the form book with the overnight leaders sharing the top three positions but the second race was a complete turnaround! Halfway up the beat on the second lap the light breeze became lighter and variable across the race course and by the time the fleet had got down the run everyone was within touching distance of each other! Within 50 metres of the finish the wind died completely and the ebb tide was building, after 20 minutes a light zephyr closed in on the fleet and those in a favourable position benefitted and managed to finish, some less fortunate felt the full force of the tide and disappeared down river to be ‘rescued’ by the club RIBs some hour or so later!

That final race provided the discard for the three leaders with Mat and Jakob taking a convincing win with two firsts and three second places, a single point separating James and Alison in second place from Lloydy and Rob in third. Des and Sara holding on to 4th and Geoff and Jenny coming through to take the fifth place prize. The handicap prizes went to Sean and Helen in first place (10th overall), Ben and Harry (8th overall) and Lee and Tom (15th overall). A great event hosted by the Dee Sailing Club and we now look forward to GP2 at Stokes Bay on 23/24 May.

Overall Results:

Pos Boat Name Sail Helm Crew Club R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 Pts
1st Mat Finish 7685 Mat Exon Jakob Exon Bridlington RYYC 2 1 1 2 2 ‑9 8
2nd Bogtrotter II 7534 James Douglas Alison Douglas Dee SC 5 2 2 1 3 (DNF) 13
3rd 7711 David Lloyd Rob Giardelli Stokes Bay 1 4 5 3 1 (DNF) 14
4th Business As Usual 7923 Des Barnes Sara Stones Bridlington RYYC 7 3 3 ‑9 7 3 23
5th La Vachete Anglais 7930 Geoff Lloyd Jenny Lloyd Dee SC 3 ‑6 6 6 4 6 25
6th La Vela 7961 Marco Manganelli James Waddington Stokes Bay SC 4 9 4 5 6 ‑13 28
7th Deva Sail Racing 7973 Simon Moruzzi Steve Roberts Dee SC 11 7 8 4 11 ‑15 41
8th Concrete Boots 4701 Ben Willis Harry McEvoy Runswick Bay SC 9 13 9 ‑16 9 5 45
9th 7737 Andy Robinson Beverley Goodchild Felixstowe Ferry SC 6 8 7 10 15 (DNF) 46
10th Elektra 6153 Sean O’Connor Helen Jones Weston SC 14 12 10 8 ‑19 4 48
11th Fluid 7894 Joe Franks Harriet Franks Bridlington RYYC 10 11 13 13 ‑17 2 49
12th Ebay? 7382 Barry Peters Datchet Water SC 20 5 11 14 8 (DNF) 58
13th Coming From Behind 7846 Darren Wood T A Wood Island Yacht Club 13 16 12 7 14 (DNF) 62
14th Captian Nemo 7969 Adrian Parsons Mark Stones Datchet Water SC ‑19 17 14 15 12 7 65
15th Screaming Donkey 6434 Lee Matthews Tom Norman Dee SC 12 14 15 17 ‑22 8 66
16th 7847 Jay Round Alyesha Malkam Bridlington RYYC 8 10 (DNF) DNC 13 11 69
17th Deetox 6235 Mathew Pollock Peter Clements Dee SC 15 19 16 12 ‑23 12 74
18th Walele 7410 Mick Singleton Olivia Barrett Runswick Bay SC 16 21 18 11 18 (DNC) 84
19th The Flying Troll 6557 Jon Hayley Matthew Waddington Dee SC 18 15 17 (DNC) 20 14 84
20th 4630 Roger Sanders Tom Sanders Dee SC (DNC) DNC DNC DNC 10 1 92
21st Deva Sail Racing Youth Team 6912 Abbie Sanders Jake Davies Dee SC 17 18 19 (DNC) 24 DNF 105
22nd Grace Under Pressure 7816 Jonny Harris Alex Harris Dee SC (DNC) DNC DNC DNC 16 10 107
23rd Pussy Galore 7707 Will Thompson James Miller Dee SC (DNC) DNC DNC DNC 5 DNF 113
24th Grace Under Pressure 7816 James Miller Pete Hope Dee SC (DNC) 20 DNC DNC DNC DNC 128
25th 7662 Ian Smith Pippa Owen Dee SC (DNC) DNC DNC DNC 21 DNF 129
26th Top Cat 7959 Mike Jones Lee Rowley WBTLBY (DNF) DNC DNC DNC DNC DNC 135
← GP2 Stokes Bay Results UKIDA 2014 Event Winners →

Leave A Reply